News - 15th March 2019

Kilmurry Card Results. 

The following are the results of the Weekly Kilmurry 25 card drive on Thursday night in the community centre Best of 20 games. 1st  A three way tie Darragh Sheridan and Anthony Granaghan, Michael Cawley and Michael McAndrew, Seamie Gallagher and Padraic Timlin, 2nd A tie Ray and Mary McNamara Leo Ryan and Tom O’Malley, Raffle 1st Darragh Sheridan 2nd Michael Barrett 3rd Michael Cawley 


Dancing in Eskeragh.

Social Dancing in Eskeragh Old School House is on each Tuesday night starting 8pm to 10pm. Come along and support. All are welcome.


Bord na nÓg Awards Night

The annual Bord na nÓg Awards evening will take place on this night Wednesday the 20th March 2019 at 7.30pm in the Crossmolina Deel-Rovers Sports Hall. Special guest on the night is our own Conor Loftus. Please support this annual event.


Lotto Results.

There was no winner of the Crossmolina Deel-Rovers GAA Club Lotto Jackpot on Saturday night 9th March. The numbers drawn were 8 – 9 – 19 – 29 Ian Kelly Cloonawilliam Crossmolina matched three numbers and won €150. The Draw took place in the Thatch Bar. This weeks Jackpot is €4,050. Many thanks for all your support. Wishing all our supporters a very Happy St Patricks Weekend


Senior Alert Scheme – Panic Button

Are you in fear of falling, being attacked or broken into in your own home, have a health condition that concerns you? Are you age 65 or older and living alone, living with another person who meets the eligibility criteria, living alone for significant periods of time during the day, or is a carer to someone else in their household, If so you could be entitled to a free Personal Alarm Panic Button.  (Monitoring fees are free for 1st year). For more information please call in or ring The Ballina Family Resource Centre on 096 75573. 


Exercise for Women

Exercise classes for women take place every Wednesday morning from 11.00 am to 12.00 noon in the Ballina Family Resource Centre, Ardnaree. The group enjoy a chat and catch-up over a cup of tea/coffee after the exercise.  New members welcome.  Ring 096 75573 for more info.

Cash for Clobber at Ballina Family Resource Centre

 If you are clearing out your home please drop the clothes, shoes, bags etc into the Ballina Family Resource Centre, Abbey Street, Ardnaree. We are doing a Cash for Clobber as a Fundraiser for the Centre, your support would be greatly appreciated.  If you need bags we have some in the centre, just drop in and collect them. For more info call 096 75573.


Crossmolina Golf Society News

Results from Castlebar Outing on 9th March 2019. Overall Winner  Freddy Canavan

Cat.1   Conor Reilly, Cat.2   Paul Carney, Cat.3   Ray McNamara, Front Nine Enda Jordan. Back Nine    Johnny Leonard. We had a great turnout with 26 players competing. Next Outing in Mulranny on Sat. 6th April. New members very welcome


The Late Mary Hegarty 

The death occurred peacefully on Monday 11th March of Mary Hegarty nee Gallagher Convent Rd Crossmolina. Her remains reposed at her residence on Wednesday evening. Requiem Mass on Thursday in St Tiernans Church with burial afterwards in Kilmurry Cemetery. Mary is survived by her husband Jack her family Mary Cosgrove Ardagh, Chris Hegarty Crossmolina, William Crossmolina, Eileen Hegarty Ballyvary, Patricia Donnellan Crossmolina, sisters Kathleen Heaney Chicago, Biney Barry, Luton, daughter - in – law Grace, sons – in – law Michael Cosgrove, Brian Kenny, Brendan Gillespie, Anthony Donnellan, brothers – in – law, sisters – in – law, grandchildren Michael and Oisin Cosgrove, Alex and Sarah Kenny, Jack, Ciara and Tara Hegarty,  Ailish, Faye and Evan Gillespie, Rian, Fionn and Aaron Donnellan, Great-granddaughter Saoirse, Nephews, nieces, neighbours, relations and friends. May she rest in peace.


Sweeney Cup Defeat

Crossmolina Intermediate team were defeated by a much stronger Knockmore team in the Sweeney cup tie at St Josephs Park on Saturday week. Knock more were always in control and ran out comfortable winner by 1 – 16 to 0 – 8 

Crossmolina Team and scorers Kieran Haran Darren Caden Joe Keane Jason Murphy Stephen Duffy Kevin Mulhern 0-1 David Howley Martin McAndrew Keith Hopkins John Garrett Mickie Loftus Shane McKinley Fionan Duffy 0-6 James Cafferty J.P.Mulhern Subs Patrick Loftus for Kieran Haran Tommy Walsh for James Cafferty Jordan Flynn for Keith Hopkins Fiachra Walshe 0-1 for John Garrett Derek Hegarty for J.P.Mulhern Tom Cafferty for David Howley 


Votes of Sympathy.

At the Executive meeting of the Crossmolina Deel-Rovers GAA Club on Tuesday night 11th March. Votes of sympathy were expressed to the Family’s of the following who died recently. Patrick McAndrew Northampton and formerly of Cum Laherdane, Michael Hussey Abbeyhalfquarter Ballina, Mickie Moyles Lecarrow Drive  Crossmolina, Marie O’Donnell nee Jordan Deerpark Crossmolina, Lucy McAndrew nee Haire Knockadine and Formerly of Crannagh and Gortskeddia Crossmolina, Jemma Gardiner Ratheskin Kincon, Mary (Letty) Ferguson nee Foley Glen Lodge Quay Rd Ballina sister of Brendan Foley St Patricks Ave Crossmolina, Nicky Lambert Westport Father of Charlie Mayo GAA, Margaret McTague nee Beirne Lecarrow Crossmolina, Stephnie Kennedy nee Killoran Dublin niece of Paddy Gallagher Richmond Castlehill Teresa McGowan nee Bourke Laherdane mother of Mary Moffatt Ballybrinogue Castlehill, Angela Ryan nee Lynnott School Rd Lahinch Co Clare, Nora Reilly nee Gilboy Blanchardstown Dublin formerly of Gladree Belmullet sister – in – law of Roseleen  Gilboy Lecarrow Crossmolina, Una McAndrew nee McNamara Cloonkee Crossmolina, Jarlath O’Hora in England and formerly of Ballinahaglish Knockmore, Thomas Meenaghan Binghamstown Belmullet brother – in – law of Kitty Gilvarry The Boreen,  John Loughney Rathrea Kincon Killala, Mary Hegarty nee Gallagher Convent Rd Crossmolina. May they rest in peace.


Minor League 

Crossmolina minor team were comfortably defeated by Moy Davitts in this first round county Minor Division 3B on Sunday week in Foxford. The hosts were in control throughout final score 3 – 9 to 0 – 8   

Crossmolina team and scorers John Tolan Edward Gough 0-4 Sean O’Boyle Daniel Howley Adam Langan Robert Murphy 0-2 Patrick McAndrew Conor Caden 0-1 Tommy Loftus 0-1 Diarmuid Walsh Darragh Duffy Killian Fergus James Gill Sub Cillian Gilroy for Adam Langan